Spend Frequently Asked Questions Regarding Your Transaction Information

Enrolling and Using Spend

What do I do if I didn't get a verification email?
If you haven't received your email verification email after signing up, please check your spam or junk mail folders.
How do I enroll and unenroll in Spend?
When you downloaded the Spend application, you provided your email address and then accepted the email confirmation that we sent to you. For more information on enrolling your bank accounts and payment cards, or to remove them, please see the Help section in the Spend application or web dashboard.
How do I use Spend?
Please see the Help section in the Spend application or web dashboard.
Are there any age restrictions in using Spend?
You must be 18 or older to use Spend.
Who can I contact if I have questions or want more information?
Please submit your questions via the Help section of the application.

Data Use, Security and Privacy

What type of data do I provide to Spend regarding my enrolled credit and debit cards and what do you use it for?
You provide us with your credit or debit card number or you provide Plaid with your bank account login information. We refer to this as your “Enrolled Card” or “Enrolled Bank Account”. Microsoft only uses your Enrolled Card and Enrolled Bank Account to provide Spend services to you and to improve the Spend experience.
What type of data do others provide to Spend regarding my purchases and what do you use it for?
Visa, Mastercard, American Express, and Plaid, referred to as Processors, provide your credit and debit card transaction data to the Spend services. We refer to this as Transaction Information. Transaction Information will include: date, time, merchant name, merchant category, last four digits of the credit or debit card, and the amount of the transaction. Microsoft only uses the Transaction Information to provide Spend services to you and to improve the Spend experience.
Do you use my Enrolled Card, Enrolled Bank Account, or Transaction Information for any other purpose other than to provide and improve Spend?
No, we only use the Enrolled Card, Enrolled Bank Account, and Transaction Information for what you provide us the explicit consent to use it for.
Do you use my Enrolled Card, Enrolled Bank Account, or Transaction Information to serve advertising to me or for personalization?
No
Do you continue to receive my Transaction Information after I delete an Enrolled Card or Enrolled Bank Account?
No
Does Microsoft continue to receive my Transaction Information if I stop using Spend?
If you have a free subscription to Spend and have not interacted with Spend for four (4) consecutive months (e.g., by reviewing, classifying or categorizing a transaction), Microsoft will delete your Enrolled Cards and Enrolled Bank Account and no longer receive Transaction Information for them unless or until you enroll your cards or bank account again. If you have a paid subscription to Spend, or are receiving Spend as part of your Office365 license, this period is twelve consecutive months of non-interaction. This is to safeguard your privacy and ensure we only process the minimum amount of data needed to provide you with Spend. Prior to deleting your Enrolled Cards, Microsoft will notify you. If you cancel your subscription to Spend, Microsoft will delete your Enrolled Cards and no longer receive Transaction Information for them.
How long do you retain my Transaction Information?
We will retain your Transaction Information in Spend for up to seventy-one (71) months. The Transaction Information such as the Transaction Date, Transaction amount and the merchant name is being provided to us by the Processor. The ability to view the Transaction Information in Spend Services is governed by our agreements with the Processors. In the case of Transaction Data which we receive from MasterCard, you will need to provide us with the consent to continue to retain your MasterCard Transaction for up to seventy-one (71) months. We will notify you at least four (4) months in advance of deleting your Transaction Information. You can access, delete, transfer and export your data in Spend as needed prior to seventy (70) months.
How do I instruct Microsoft to delete a particular transaction in Spend?
To have Microsoft delete a particular transaction, you just need to click on the trashcan icon that appears on the transaction. We will delete the Transaction Information within 30 days of the request.
Is my credit and debit card information secure? Is my bank account login information secure?
Spend uses 256-bit SSL encryption with Microsoft certifications. Also, Spend only retains your card network type (Amex, Mastercard, Visa) and the last four digits of your Enrolled Card number. In the case of your bank login information, you provide this information to Plaid and not to Microsoft. As such, Microsoft does not have it.
Where can I find more information regarding the use of data and privacy?
We recommend you read the Spend Terms of Use, along with the Microsoft Privacy Statement, which can be found in the Support section of the Spend application and the Spend dashboard.
When I give you access to the photos on my device to look for receipts, what do you see and how do you use the photos?
If you provide us with access to your photo library via the permissions settings in your photo or camera application, our Spend device software algorithms attempt to locate a photo that resembles a receipt. In the event it identifies a photo that resembles a receipt, it is then made available to you within the Spend application to assign to a specific purchase, if you so choose.
Do I have to grant access to my photo library?
No. If you don’t want our Spend device software algorithms to look for a photo that resembles a receipt in your photo library, then you don’t have to grant access to your photo library. You may also disable your previously granted permission for Spend device software algorithms to look in your photos for a receipt via the permissions settings in your photo or camera application.
Can I share my data from Spend with others?
You may share the data that is maintained in Spend (e.g., Transaction Information, your transaction notes, receipt photos) as you determine appropriate. Be aware that if you share your Transaction Information or other data via or into a third-party application or service then that Transaction Information and data will become subject to the use terms, including privacy terms, of that particular third party application or service. For example, sharing your Transaction Information via your Gmail account means the Transaction Information would be subject to the Gmail use terms, including privacy terms.